Romance… What Romance?

7 Jul

image

Now I know that I’m not the most romantic person in the world. It doesn’t usually occur to me to do little things like put sticky notes with I love you in a lunch bag. (Seriously, who does that?) I don’t call just to say ‘I love you’. (That would irritate the piss out of me.) Don’t call me just to say I love you, I’ll ask you what you broke or what you want. I’ve never sent a man flowers, or other impromptu man gifts. I did once send my ex-boyfriend rocks. It was a great gift, I promise, but really, I sent rocks.

image

This isn’t to say that I don’t appreciate romantic gestures. I think sending flowers is stupid, and I’m allergic to most of them. I don’t want stupid flowers, but you know, the card is pretty neat. You know what I find romantic? The husband of 30 years who fills his wife’s gas tank every Sunday so she doesn’t have to. I find the one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. Its practical, it’s a reminder that he’s thinking of her, that he cares for her enough to carry this one burden. That to me is more romantic than a trinket.

I went on a date this week, one of my ‘First Dates’ that I promised to blog about, and I noticed a few things. One, I’m really bad at dating. This has not changed. Another is that he sat down beside me while we had coffee, not across from me. While awkward at first, I found that I enjoyed having the personal connection there. He wanted to be close to me, and made it known just by choosing to sit where he did. He asked to hold my hand when we left the coffee house and went outside to a picnic area. I lead a jaded life, I know, but that melted my heart a little bit. He respected me enough to asked.

I can’t wait to go out with him again because I enjoyed his company. I found him interesting, and engaging. He also smelled fantastic, which is such a big thing with me. The entire experience was a leap above the past few dates I’ve been on. I feel like I met someone that was equally interested in me, the person, as he was in my fleshy assets. Time will tell if that’s true or not, but I didn’t walk away thinking all men suck, and I’d rather die single. I didn’t want the date to end, the night to end, or my conversation with him to end. Of course it did, I’m not moving in to the picnic table outside of Dunken Donuts, that’s just weird.

So that was my 1 good first date, after so many obnoxious failures. How do you define romance? What is a romantic gesture to you? What’s your take on flowers as a romantic gesture?

Leave a Reply

