The Ignorance of Others

20 Aug

Image

I read an article today that made me angry. It was an ignorant mother writing to a mother of a special needs child. At first I was simply shocked and in awe of the pure degradation that spewed forth from the angry woman. In one letter, she showed that there were members of our society that still lived in the dark ages as far as social integration went. Here’s the letter for those who’d like to read it. Be warned, it’s just tragic. 

To read the letter, please click here.

My thoughts ranged from instantaneous: I feel so bad for that ignorant mother’s children. To be raised in an environment and by a woman who could actually tell another mother to euthanize her child. To the slower, and possibly more mature: How can we, as a society, promote awareness to stamp out ignorance such as this. 

The anger at the letter is still there. I don’t know the family who received it. I read it online as I’m sure others did as well. I may be closer to the special needs spectrum and that’s why it took me some time to get over what I’d read. How dare she? How dare this woman punish a mother like that? It was brutal, and ugly. The worst thing I’ve read in a long time. I thought we were better than that as a culture. 

Now, I didn’t truly take the time to read up about the family who received the letter. It’s not important to me to know what the kid is battling. There are children born every day with Down Syndrome, Autism and various other neurological and psychological challenges. It disgusts me that they still have this kind of odious behavior to contend with. 

The saving grace, that I see, is one day her children are going to grow up. They’re going to find that letter on the internet and remember the hate their mother spewed. I hope she wasn’t planning on a good retirement home. 

Leave a Reply

