Slave to characters

19 Sep

Divine Intervention by Kristy Denice Bock (and Savannah Delseno)

As with most authors, I wrote Divine Intervention with a clear idea in my head of where the story would go. Three pages later, all hell broke loose, and Savannah Delseno told me exactly what she thought of my clear, concise plans. I tried, very hard, to control the flow of the story but she wouldn’t budge an inch. It was HER way or NO way.

Glad I listened! Divine Intervention went from being a good story to a fabulous one. Though this author was clearly steamrolled by a character, I can not regret a single moment. From the time she dies on her wedding day, to the day she releases thousands of souls, Savannah steps up to the plate and gives everything of herself without ever wondering if she should worry about the consequences.

The Divine Goddesses do everything in their power to push Savannah in the direction they want her to go, but I’m happy to say, she didn’t listen to THEM anymore than she listened to ME! Some of you met Noxia, the Goddess who leads the Divine Ones in book one, Divine Touch, and you’ll be happy to see her again in Divine Intervention. Other Goddess’s make their presence known, and interfere as often as they can.

The real joy in writing this book was visiting Edereu as a child. In her awkward preteen years, she still manages to make a profound impact on the lives of those around her. It makes me wonder if Edereu will grow up to be a wonderful, loving Goddess like her mother… or the selfish, power-hungry Goddess of her past. I can’t wait to write the next book to find out what is going on with her.

I can’t put into words how much I enjoyed this book. I would like to take credit for it, but in all honesty, Savannah told me what to write down, and I wrote it down. She told me what type of man she wanted, and I found Gabriel – whom she found perfectly acceptable. Then when the Goddesses tried to run her life, she told me how to make them miserable.

I hope you enjoy meeting Savannah, and reading about her as much as I enjoyed writing about her. She truly is a woman with her own mind, her own set of morals, and she marches to the beat of her own drum. Though, she will let you walk with her on occasion.

Sincerely,

Kristy Denice Bock

http://www.kristybock.com

4 Responses to “Slave to characters”

  1. Kristy September 19, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Divine Interventions first review!!

    “The Much Awaited Book Two of The Divine One Series”

    Savannah Delseno is dead! It was bad enough dying, but to be murdered by your own fiancé, on your wedding day…Not Fun! When she is offered a job as Death’s assistant, at first she is reluctant. But the idea of maybe making her ex- fiancé suffer, seals the deal! One thing Death, aka Gabriel, forgot to mention was the transformation from human mortal to soul reaper. Oh, and that little thing of a family curse and one of the scariest demons ever coming after her!! Let the fun begin!!

    Gabriel, aka Death, admired Savannah’s spunk from the moment he saw her. Knowing she would be a good canidate for the job, he agrees with his ex-assistant, Esmeralda that Savannah would make a good replacement. Yeah sure she is beautiful, but they would strictly have a professional relationship and that was all. He had resigned himself to being alone long ago; having loved deeply once, only to lose her. With his ex-assistant and soon to be sister in law trying to play matchmaker, Gabriel has his hands full trying to keep the very alluring Savannah at arm’s length. When a deadly demon comes looking for Savannah, Gabriel will do whatever it takes to keep Savannah; even a marriage in name only!

    With Death mourning a lost love, Savannah wanting to kill her old love, an ex-assistant hell bent on a love match, and throw in a ancient demon…Oh yeah, things are about to get real interesting!

    I loved Savannah!! She is a character that you can relate too. She says what we wish we could! Her spunk, attitude, wit, and one liners just cracked me up! She is going onto my favorite heroines list! I looked forward to the interactions between Gabriel and Savannah, magic together!! She brings out the fun in Gabe and I just enjoyed the two together very much! When they come together it is hot and steamy!! This couple had my attention from their first wordplay down to the last sentence in the story. I have to say I didnt expect the villian. Ms. Bock did an excellent job of building a very detailed world of gods, goddesses, demons and one mouthy, smart and just downright fun female lead!! Well done, and I cannot wait to see whose story will be told next!!!

    Reviewed by Missy Brown
    Posted August 26, 2010

    • Franny Armstrong September 20, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

      Your series is truly DIVINE, Kristy. Rich characters, an enthralling plot, and so much more. Keep on writing, girlfriend! You’ve got the touch.
      Hugs
      Franny

  2. Tammy September 20, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! You managed to make it even better than the first. I loved Savannah! Darn you, I couldn’t stop reading it you had me the whole way.

    I can’t wait for the next installment.

    I highly recommend Divine Intervention for everyone!

  3. LaVerne Thompson September 21, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Great post. I love characters like this. Has me wanting to read the story.

Leave a Reply

